Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Domain name Scam

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Posts
    1,065

    Default Domain name Scam

    Just wanted to give a warning to all Bluepark customers about a Domain name scam that we encountered today.

    We had a call from a woman named Hannah Martin (with a scouse accent) claiming to from a company called Euro Formations regarding the fact that an unnamed woman had attempted to register fat-banana-feet.org, and was going to sell Educational Toys. They were offering us the chance to register the name ourselves to stop her doing so, and we had an hour to decide.

    After looking in to this, and calling back on the 0870 number provided (a Premium line...) and not being able to get hold of the woman (and we couldn't find them on the 'net either), we found this link about the scam http://www.lwdinternet.co.uk/domains...ame-scams.html

    The company (named amongst other things UK Business Formations with the same phone number as the one they gave us) is mentioned under various guises on this site http://www.domainscams.co.uk/

    Luckily we didn't fall for this one, but it seemed credible to start with, so be careful out there!

    Regards

    Pete
    Last edited by petad; 01-07-2008 at 12:03.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,741

    Default

    Thanks Pete,

    Will get my swear word dictionary ready just in case they call

    We have had simular calls and letters from the Domain Registry of America which all looks very official and I can see how people not in the know can fall foul of B******S like these!
    Regards,

    Dave

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    287

    Default Beware Corporate Identification Bureau!

    We had just about exactly the same scam played on us last week, although they actually gave me the name of the guy that was registering 10 domain derivatives i.e needundiesuk.com etc. The supposed buyer was paying a £1000 to have these domains registered for 10 years and we were given 15 minutes to give them a decision as to whether we wished to prevent the registration.

    The company was very, very convincing, they came up with all sorts of reasons that someone would want to register all these derivatives.

    It was an 0870 number that called and their website is corporateib.com, although I suspect it will disappear very shortly!.

    Andy

    Needundies.com

Similar Threads

  1. Competitor using our domain name in adwords
    By Dave in forum Online Marketing and Promotion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 21-11-2009, 08:00
  2. IMPORTANT: SCAM E-Mail to TRAP Bluepark Clients
    By Rich in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 16-09-2009, 09:17
  3. Website Hosting & Domain Name Registration
    By entertaintoday in forum General Discussion: Any Other Business
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-06-2009, 14:11
  4. Domain Names
    By Jonathan Read in forum Online Marketing and Promotion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-05-2008, 08:35
  5. Including customer name in text on page?
    By petad in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-03-2008, 08:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •