Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Product Variables in Blocks

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    572

    Default Product Variables in Blocks

    We would quite like to show exact quantites of stock of a particular product to our trade customers in a side block on the product page. I think the variable is %product_quantity .... It should change of course as the variant is selected.

    Does anybody know if this is possible, (I feel it must be somehow), and what the syntax in html might be?

    Or am I pushing my luck?!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    West Midlands, England
    Posts
    993

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CLO View Post
    We would quite like to show exact quantites of stock of a particular product to our trade customers in a side block on the product page. I think the variable is %product_quantity .... It should change of course as the variant is selected.

    Does anybody know if this is possible, (I feel it must be somehow), and what the syntax in html might be?

    Or am I pushing my luck?!
    Can you not just choose the option to always show stock levels to customers? Then instead of it saying "In stock", it would say "In stock, 24 remaining".

    That would be a much easier solution surely? It's in the Configuration options > Product Page > Quantity in stock description

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    572

    Default

    Yes, thanks, Thomas ... but we do not want to have that option for normal visitors, just for Trade Customers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    254

    Default

    You'll probably need to add an 'if' statement to your code or similar.

    Speak to Rich, James or Kate, sure they'll be able to help you out.
    Dave

    www.thecartridgekingdom.co.uk - For all your inkjet & laser toner cartridges.
    www.designedbyfitzy.co.uk - Personalised clothing for all your needs, personal & business, Sign Making/Writing for both office & company vehicles.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    572

    Default

    Thanks, Dave ... I've tried [IF product_quantity]%product_quantity[/IF] : I feel I am just missing something.

    I've already bothered Rich and James today, so thought I'd try the massed intelligence of the BP community brain!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Twickenham, West London
    Posts
    798

    Default

    I'm pretty sure variables won't work in blocks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    572

    Default

    Thanks, Greg ... I rather think that too. Not the end of the world, but I'd like to have done it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    254

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CLO View Post
    Thanks, Dave ... I've tried [IF product_quantity]%product_quantity[/IF] : I feel I am just missing something.

    I've already bothered Rich and James today, so thought I'd try the massed intelligence of the BP community brain!
    How do your trade customers view your site, do they have to login?

    If so you need the 'if' statement to work only when a customer logs in etc.

    Sorry but I'm useless with 'if' statements, you'll need someone who's a guru with HTML like Elliott Coleman or search online. But there's bound to be someone on here who can help you out eventually. I'm pretty sure it can be done, it's either an 'if' statement or maybe a jquery might work as well.
    Dave

    www.thecartridgekingdom.co.uk - For all your inkjet & laser toner cartridges.
    www.designedbyfitzy.co.uk - Personalised clothing for all your needs, personal & business, Sign Making/Writing for both office & company vehicles.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    572

    Default

    Yes, they have to log in, and then special trade discounts are automatically shown on product pages, and Trade only information is shown in a block on the left. These accounts have to be applied for of course.

    I'm not that fussed if I can't do it! (But I'd like to ...)

Similar Threads

  1. Product Specific Blocks
    By johnb in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-02-2012, 17:01
  2. using product variables in page description
    By dan1el in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 27-01-2012, 13:19
  3. Recplicable product blocks
    By petad in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-05-2010, 10:44
  4. short product desciptions in product blocks; all or none?
    By colinb in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-11-2009, 18:26
  5. Product Blocks without thumbnail images?
    By petad in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-02-2009, 15:30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us

Bluepark's ecommerce software is developed, hosted and supported exclusively by ourselves, here in the UK, and has been so since the company was initially formed in 2004. Your brand new online shop will be hosted securely on our fast and reliable server network, using a domain name of your choice, providing the ability to build and maintain your ecommerce website, and manage your orders, from any location via your own secure online Administration Console.

A Bluepark ecommerce site is the perfect tool for selling online, whether you're selling physical products, digital downloads or services. You'll be in good company with over 1,000 UK customers who also form a friendly and helpful online community, further strengthening our highly acclaimed support network.

Find us on...