Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Displaying Stock Levels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Newquay, UK
    Posts
    14

    Default Displaying Stock Levels

    Sorry guys - here's today's rediculous request!

    I'm a big fan of displaying actual stock levels. Think it gives customers real confidence.

    The problem is it also provides a big security risk. If we are displaying on our site exactly what we have inside our building we have an issue, and my insurance guy is getting a little frail so need to keep his blood pressure down.

    Anyone know if a little script could limit the stock levels. So if stock level is greater than 50 then display 50+, else display actual level.

    The out of stock can be managed with the standard low stock thresholds.


    thanks


    l
    Lloyd

    "if in doubt - paddle out"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sculthope, Norfolk with a fantastic view across the fields.
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Hi,

    Although we don't actually display stock levels, if we have a large amount of one product, we don't assign the whole stock to the website in one go. Our true stock check is done separately through our accounting software.
    Kay Reeve
    Green East Eco Friendly Products making online shopping easy and informative.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    3,699

    Default

    Hi Lloyd,

    Should be quite easy to write a script to do this assuming Rich allows us access to the product quantity variable. This code would go into the product detail page within the custom html tab in your default template.

    If you are NOT using the low stock field for your products then set all your products to have a low stock threshold of 50. In site-->configuration-->product set quantity in stock description to phrase only. Then in your language manager change in stock to say in stock 50+ and the low stock to say in stock less 50

    I know the the above is not exactly what you are after but maybe a comprise unless Rich can confirm the variable for the product quantity field.
    Regards,

    Dave

Similar Threads

  1. Allow order beyond stock levels
    By Jonathan Read in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21-02-2010, 12:58
  2. NOT displaying product description in side blocks?
    By petad in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-08-2009, 18:35
  3. Page not displaying correctly when SEO applied
    By roobyroo in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31-03-2009, 12:47
  4. Option to split in-stock/ out of stock items at checkout
    By little-linguist in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19-09-2008, 10:24
  5. levels of business - is it just me ????
    By Gillf in forum General Discussion: Any Other Business
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28-05-2008, 16:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us

Bluepark's ecommerce software is developed, hosted and supported exclusively by ourselves, here in the UK, and has been so since the company was initially formed in 2004. Your brand new online shop will be hosted securely on our fast and reliable server network, using a domain name of your choice, providing the ability to build and maintain your ecommerce website, and manage your orders, from any location via your own secure online Administration Console.

A Bluepark ecommerce site is the perfect tool for selling online, whether you're selling physical products, digital downloads or services. You'll be in good company with over 1,000 UK customers who also form a friendly and helpful online community, further strengthening our highly acclaimed support network.

Find us on...