Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Adding informational text to the checkout (telephone/mobile number)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    195

    Question Adding informational text to the checkout (telephone/mobile number)

    We're noticing an increase in failed DPD deliveries. This seems at least partially down to customers not getting the DPD email updates. So they're out during the delivery attempt, but don't know any attempt has been made because they're apparently not getting the updates. So the parcel gets returned to us without the customer knowing anything about it.

    We don't currently ask for phone numbers, but want to add it to the site to help improve deliveries. But we need to make sure the customer is informated we're only asking for a mobile number for delivery notifications only.

    We've tried adding text in the language manager, but because the ":" is added after it looks a complete mess -

    dpdupdates.jpg
    Is there some kind of workaround to get that text underneath without messing up the ":" and creating 3 lines of text?

    Even better, is there a way to get the orange text under the box rather than the text?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    The Universe
    Posts
    438

    Default

    We simply made a telephone number mandatory. We didn't add any text. The vast majority complete it with no issue, those who don't enter a fake number (like 123456 etc).

    We have more of an issue with email addresses not working.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkStarGames View Post
    Is there some kind of workaround to get that text underneath without messing up the ":" and creating 3 lines of text?

    Even better, is there a way to get the orange text under the box rather than the text?
    I've just had a look, but noticed you've now since removed this field. If you add it again and this time leave out the orange text so it just reads: Mobile (Optional): and I'll take a look for you...

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Thanks, I've added the field back again.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkStarGames View Post
    Thanks, I've added the field back again.
    OK give this a try - go into 'Template Editor' and under the 'Pages' tab scroll down to 'Closing body' - now paste the following code in this section:

    Code:
    $(document).ready(function() {
        $('<tr><td></td><td style="font-size: 12px; color: #F45E2D;"><i>Used to provide DPD delivery updates <u>only</u></i></td></tr>').insertAfter($("input#telephone").closest("tr"));
    });
    Let me know how you get on...

    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Opps - forgot to wrap the code in script tags - updated below...

    Code:
    <script>
    $(document).ready(function() {
        $('<tr><td></td><td style="font-size: 12px; color: #F45E2D;"><i>Used to provide DPD delivery updates <u>only</u></i></td></tr>').insertAfter($("input#telephone").closest("tr"));
    });
    </script>

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Thanks, finally got around to testing this on one of our websites and it works great!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    392

    Default

    Out of interest could you do the same thing on the additions on the product page? That could be a game changer for some additions.

    Thanks to anyone who reads and replys.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    242

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkStarGames View Post
    Thanks, finally got around to testing this on one of our websites and it works great!
    No Worries - glad it's working!!

    Quote Originally Posted by jhpe07 View Post
    Out of interest could you do the same thing on the additions on the product page?
    In theory yes, but unlike the above which is one instance on one page, it would take a lot of faffing around to achieve and maintain. If you REALLY want to do it then I could take a look, otherwise I'd suggest putting it to Bluepark as a possible future update so that it can done easily within the admin console.

    Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Telephone number validation? SecureTrading unhelpful with error messages...
    By LabelKing in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19-04-2017, 15:46
  2. Mobile header displays different text on the mobile site
    By damsel in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-09-2016, 19:01
  3. Landline and mobile number in Company info...
    By Zen Overland in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-02-2013, 11:03
  4. Adding telephone orders manually
    By Matt-Web in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-09-2012, 14:42
  5. Why does the telephone number appear on the dispatch notes?
    By pinkypie in forum Bluepark Technical Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-02-2012, 13:50

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About us

Bluepark's ecommerce software is developed, hosted and supported exclusively by ourselves, here in the UK, and has been so since the company was initially formed in 2004. Your brand new online shop will be hosted securely on our fast and reliable server network, using a domain name of your choice, providing the ability to build and maintain your ecommerce website, and manage your orders, from any location via your own secure online Administration Console.

A Bluepark ecommerce site is the perfect tool for selling online, whether you're selling physical products, digital downloads or services. You'll be in good company with over 1,000 UK customers who also form a friendly and helpful online community, further strengthening our highly acclaimed support network.

Find us on...